Gratitude

I’d like to take a moment to reflect and be grateful for the small things in life. Today it was my heavy winter coat, hat and scarf.  We had another winter storm that turned the roads into a slushy icy mess. I commute over an hour to the university, I made my 8 am class, but then the campus was shut down due to weather. The drive home took twice as long, but I made it in one piece another thing to be grateful for. Last, but not least the lovely nap I had when I got home. It doesn’t matter how bad the situation may be if one is willing to look hard enough there is always something to be grateful for it just may not be evident at the time.

Here are a few more things I am grateful for

Endings

for without them new things could not begin

Learning

having the opportunity to go back to school

and the wisdom I have gained from life who is the hardest teacher of all

Laughter

for it truly is the best medicine

Friends

without them I would have a much harder time getting through life’s difficulties

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Pingback: The Gratitude Principle « Andrew James Whalan
  2. Hi Sara,

    My name is Marty. I like your blog! And I enjoyed your comments about gratitude.

    I want to share with you a gratitude prayer I think you’ll like. This prayer is from the Baha’i Faith, founded by Baha’u’llah.

    “He is God! O Lord! How shall we thank Thee! Thy bounties are limitless, and our gratitude but limited. How can the limited render thanks to the limitless? Incapable are we of offering thanks for Thy mercies. Utterly powerless, we turn unto Thy Kingdom, and beg Thee to increase Thy bestowal and bounty. Thou art the Giver, Thou art the Bestower, Thou art the Powerful.”

    Thank you for letting me share this with you. Keep up the great work you are doing!

    Warmly,

    Marty

Leave a Reply

