A book’s lessons

I mentioned in my last post that I’m re-reading Jack Canfield’s book The Success Principles. This is one of my favorite books on getting what we want out of life. The principles used by Canfield, translate into all areas, including the business or employment side. The first major concept is taking full responsibility for our current situation. For example, I went back into a relationship knowing the personality of the person and should not have been surprised with the outcome. That was my fault and I rectified it. In that situation I hadn’t yet come to the realization that I deserved so much better. When I finally did a few doors shut, but they needed to and a whole new world opened up to me. I have essentially left my old world behind to forge a new one, complete with a wonderful man.

Making life altering changes is a lot of hard work and there is no easy road.  I get up at five am three days a week to make a 130 mile round trip for school.  I want my bachelor’s degree it is just that simple and this is what I have to do to get it. Most people aren’t willing to go to such lengths. I have to drive farther because I live in the country, again it is all about the choices we make. Breaking a large thing into smaller chunks makes it more manageable. Instead of thinking of my bachelor’s degree as a whole I break it down into semesters, then each semester into two major parts, midterms and finals. Finally, what do I need to accomplish each week.

Lake Degray last summer.

Another principle is having a clear road map with goals including date of completion, the more specific the goals the better and more likely we are to achieve it. That is what I am working on now. I am a senior in college. I want to have a portfolio of writing projects ready by the time I graduate if not sooner. I started working on that goal this weekend by submitting writing samples to a professional blog. I am applying for a contributing writer position and I should hear something by the end of the month.

One thought on “A book’s lessons

Leave a Reply

